//
you're reading...
Blog

“Més que un club”


When I studied abroad last spring, I spent part of my spring break in Corfu, Greece and part of it in Barcelona, Spain. I didn’t know much about Barcelona besides the infamous party scene and I wasn’t expecting a very rich cultural or historical experience. My friends and fellow study abroaders had told me about the clubs, but my knowledge stopped there.

The first morning we were there, my friends and I took a free four-hour walking tour of the city and I was absolutely fascinated. All of my pre-conceived notions were proved wrong. I think all the information I acquired on this tour is what prompted me to want to return to Barcelona so badly. I only got to spend two whole days there – which wasn’t nearly enough to really explore the intricacies of the city. I loved the famous landmarks – La Sagrada Familia and the Park Guell to name a few.

But what I was really interested in was Barcelona being a province of Catalonia and the sense of independence and autonomy from the rest of Spain that the people of this region possess. While Catalonia is technically a part of Spain, the vast majority of its inhabitants don’t see their situation in this way. Instead, they view their region as completely separate from Spain – a place with their own unique culture, history, and language.

The rivalry between the Real Madrid and Barcelona “soccer” teams is practically unmatched across the globe – this rivalry is not just about a game.  This rivalry is rooted in intense nationalism. Their motto, “Més que un club,” which means ‘More than a club’ is telling of how important the team is to the region’s cause. This is just one example of how strongly the region feels about exerting their independence.

Because of my interest in this topic, I went in search of a Catalan think tank concerned with the political movement of Catalan nationalism which strives to establish Catalonia as its own nation. That is when I found Cercle d’Estudis Sobiranistes. It would help if I spoke Catalan, but they do have an English translation on their website. Essentially, in this organization’s “Founding Manifesto,” they are calling for a revolution of sorts to preserve their Catalan identity.

A section of the Manifesto summarizes their cause: “We do not resign ourselves to decay and disappearance; we do not want to lose the dignity and pride of being Catalans. It is time for the rising up of men and women who are free with the aim to establish the conditions to decide upon the constitution of Catalonia as an independent State integrated in the European Union, exercising its right to self-determination recognised by the United Nations for all people in application of the democratic principle and in the content of the Vienna Agreements on international treaties and succession of States.”

Although this is a translation, I found parallels in the writing style to Marx’s Communist Manifesto. Although arguing for different kinds of revolutions, both authors inspire a rise to action by its readers.

The existence of organizations such as this one amp up my interest in going back to Barcelona. While I am not very educated on the politics of the situation, the fact that they are so set on gaining their independence establishes Catalonia as a strongly unified region who has a true sense of their identity. Honestly, I think this is a rarity in today’s globe and makes this region a very special one. I would love to go back and learn about the issue from the locals themselves. And maybe I’ll even pick up on a little Catalan too.

Discussion

4 thoughts on ““Més que un club”

  1. Beth, I also visited Barcelona and I was amazed at the amazing sites to visit. I immediately recognized the title of your blog, “mes que un club” because I went on a tour of the soccer stadium when I was there! I originally wanted to study in Barcelona, but the international education office here did not allow me to because they speak essentially a different language than my major. Since I studied in Granada, Spain, it was really interesting to hear the different perspectives on Barcelona’s hopes for independence. I like how you illustrated this through the rivalry of the soccer teams because I think this is a very accurate display of the rivalry between Barcelona and the rest of Spain. My professors in Granada were never very enthused when they learned that their students were going to Barcelona.To the rest of Spain, this hope for independence signifies that the people of Barcelona think they are better than everyone else in Spain- so that is why many people root for Real Madrid and why so many are opposed to Barcelona in general. It was really interesting to go to Barcelona and I would also love to return there, especially if I were able to see a Real Madrid v. Barcelona game!

    Posted by alyssakinell | March 21, 2012, 10:29 am
  2. Beth, although I have never been to Spain nor speak any Spanish, your excitement about the city and its description sparked my interest. I also had no idea that Barcelona was trying to separate from the rest of Spain. It appears as though it is creating a lot of tension in Spain. Last semester in my capstone class, we studied how place and culture are directly related. One of my classmates discussed the tension that exists between the ancestors of the Moors and the Spanish. They pretty much dislike each other and Americans are often ridiculed and cursed at if they enter the area. So that could be another aspect to look at.

    Posted by Amanda Skonezney | March 21, 2012, 1:34 pm
  3. I’ve always wanted to go to Spain because of soccer. I’ve gotten in soccer over the last few years and really admire clubs like FC Barca and Real Madrid. I’ve heard from friends that the games are ridiculous; being in the stands is a life changing experience. I like how you included the part about Catalonia because I was only acutely aware of the separation that existed between it and the rest of Spain. I’m interested in hearing about any conflicts between Catalonia and the rest of Spain, as it seems their Manifesto you mentioned might cause some tension. Spain sounds like an amazing place, both culturally and aesthetically.

    Posted by Ben K. | March 21, 2012, 6:20 pm
  4. I was bummed that “mes que un club” went from having their ubiquitous corporate logo on their jerseys be UNESCO- a UN group. Barca gave away their player’s own personal billboard to a good cause. But then they switched away again.

    I hope you aren’t sucking up, Beth. Do you now know that San Jordi is the patron saint of Calaunya?

    Posted by Jordi | March 22, 2012, 11:27 am

Leave a Reply

BLOG INSTRUCTIONS

Blog 5 before session 6 What (interest) or Who (person) Inspires You? For this week’s prompt, the Blog Council wants you to examine how this class relates to your own interests. So, please write about how this class relates to some of your own intellectual or other learning interests. We are NOT interested in how it relates to a specific career goal. Plan B: same idea, but based on a person. See whole post for details.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

