//
you're reading...
Blog, Bucknell, Class, Research

Research is Invaluable


Having chosen childhood obesity as the topic for my white paper, I have had no trouble finding information as there is a wide variety of research and literature on the subject.  In the library, I was pressed for time, but I uncovered several books in the sciences and medicine stacks within a matter of minutes.  The title that I found most interesting was “Generation Extra Large: Rescuing Our Children from the Epidemic of Obesity”.  Given last week’s discussion regarding Generation We, I found the labeling of our same generation as “Extra Large” was worthy of comment. 

Nevertheless, the book that I actually chose to look at more in depth for this particular blog post was entitled “Obesity in Youth: Causes, Consequences, and Cures”.  I decided that this book might be the most helpful as it was the most recently published (2009) of the books I discovered in my less-than comprehensive search.  I assumed that this book may have more reliable data and statistics and therefore it would be more helpful than the others in contributing to my white paper.

Sure enough, I played my cards right!  First, in merely perusing the Preface of the book, I found what I might be able to use as my society source for my 3rd and final argument draft.  The book explains that the topic of childhood obesity has been gaining attention in recent years, especially from the media.  Specifically, it points to an entire issue of TIME magazine dedicated to “our super-sized kids”.  I will hopefully be able to find the issue online and use it as a source for my final paper.

In addition (and more importantly), I was really intrigued that this book talked specifically about addressing the psychological aspects of obesity in youth and children.  In the research I have done up to now, I had been more focused on the physical health problems associated with the obesity epidemic, for example, diabetes is a huge concern.  However, I am now interested in knowing more about the psychological and social issues that have received far less attention.  The book (from the little that I read) touches on the resulting problems of teasing, body image, mental disorders, as well as psychosocial consequences.  One of the questions in the preface that particularly struck me as something to think about regarding the childhood obesity epidemic was “How do you encourage nutrition without encouraging obsession?” (Heinberg and Thompson, 2009).  I think that this is a key question that I will try to answer in my research and incorporate into my final white paper.  Hopefully, we as a society can begin to better understand, treat and prevent childhood obesity and other concerns that arise as a result of it.

Needless to say, I checked out the book and plan to read more of it!

Heinberg, Leslie J., and J. Kevin. Thompson. Obesity in Youth: Causes, Consequences, and Cures. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2009. Print.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Research is Invaluable

  1. Yay! I just checked it out to you 🙂 I’m glad you were able to find useful information in the book both for your argument paper and potentially the final white paper.

    Posted by Lauren Daley | April 12, 2012, 5:08 pm
  2. Lauren, way to go on being proactive and pursuing a book that is relevant to your White Paper! You make me feel bad about myself, but I am happy for you that you have such a great resource and a leg up on this process. The topic you have chosen if one of intense interest and applcable findings. One of my former psychology professors focuses on the psychology of body image and I would be happy to put the two of you in touch for any additional information he may be able to supply you with.

    Posted by Derek | April 12, 2012, 5:30 pm

Leave a Reply

BLOG INSTRUCTIONS

Blog 5 before session 6 What (interest) or Who (person) Inspires You? For this week’s prompt, the Blog Council wants you to examine how this class relates to your own interests. So, please write about how this class relates to some of your own intellectual or other learning interests. We are NOT interested in how it relates to a specific career goal. Plan B: same idea, but based on a person. See whole post for details.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

