//
you're reading...
Blog, Bucknell

A little digging


After searching the library database with key words such as “Japanese Whaling”, “Eco-terrorism” and “Sea Shepherd”, I found two hits for books.  The first book was “Sea Shepherd: My Fight for Whales and Seal” by Paul Watson (President of the Sea Shepherd Conservation group).  I found this book first and flipped through it, but it failed to provide much more than a narrative of his early experiences as a conservationist.  Although the information is interesting, I do not think it will be much use for my white paper.

The second book was “Japanese Whaling: End of an Era?”.  Just looking at the table of contents was telling.  This book was going to be way more useful…so I checked it out.  The last two chapters look to be the most useful because they discuss the whaling culture in Japan and the whaling companies which can potentially give me a business source for my final argument paper.  There is another chapter that discussed the Impacts of the Moratorium on Whalers and their families and nationalism in Japan (a topic I discussed in my first argument paper).

I am happy with my finding because this book discusses Japanese whaling from a Japanese perspective.  Searching on the internet has provided me a lot of sources that are anti-Japanese whaling.  Some of the Japanese sources are harder to find because they are…in Japanese haha.  Anyhow, I feel like I have a great additional source for my white paper.

 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “A little digging

  1. I like the idea of looking into Japanese whaling! In reality I don’t know anything about it, but my sister was a Japanese major in college and I visited her in Japan two summers ago. Overall the country’s culture is so incredibly different than ours, and I’m sure it would be interesting to compare cross-cultural views of this activity.

    Posted by Catherine Gibbons | April 12, 2012, 6:40 pm
  2. The book you found seems like a great source that could really add to your paper! It is always great to add a different perspective into your paper since there is always two sides to every story.

    Posted by Amanda Skonezney | April 13, 2012, 10:54 am

Leave a Reply

BLOG INSTRUCTIONS

Blog 5 before session 6 What (interest) or Who (person) Inspires You? For this week’s prompt, the Blog Council wants you to examine how this class relates to your own interests. So, please write about how this class relates to some of your own intellectual or other learning interests. We are NOT interested in how it relates to a specific career goal. Plan B: same idea, but based on a person. See whole post for details.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

