//
you're reading...
Fun, Readings

Hit List is a Great Hit


I started to look through the books that were on display in the fiction section near the café seating area and Hit List immediately caught my attention. As I mentioned in my blog post about St. Louis, this book is a part of the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series that I like to read. I am an avid fantasy reader and this book series is very interesting to me (especially if I want to visit St. Louis because of it). The Hit List, by Laurell K Hamilton, is the latest book of the series and is the one that I have not read yet. I haven’t read it yet since I like to wait for the books to come out of paperback in order to match my whole collection.

After reading the preview that was provided on the inside cover as well as leafing through a couple of chapters, I got a good understanding of what the novel was going to be about. Basically, the most dangerous and power vampire, the Mother of All Darkness (similar to the idea of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named from Harry Potter), is escaping from a deep trance and is looking for a body to possess. She wants to possess someone that is not only a threat to her existence but is also very powerful so naturally she wants Anita Blake’s body. Anita Blake is the main character who is deeply involved in the supernatural world. She is also a necromancer as well as many other things.  Anita Blake is called on a police case involving murders that have been occurring by some form of “monster”. She works with the police on many supernatural mysteries since she is a Federal Marshal. She is known to the supernatural world as “The Executioner” and Edward, who also called in on the case, is who known as “Death”. The case as it turns out is a trap by the Harlequin (they serve the Mother of All Darkness) to get close to Anita. Overall, this book is filled with violence, sex and action and looks like another thriller created by Hamilton. I am excited to get the chance to read it once the semester is over and I have some free time.

Trying to relate Hit List to something that we discussed in class was very difficult. However, in my attempt to make some kind of connection I made a really big stretch and related it to Walzer’s complex equality. If you view the Mother of All Darkness as a company and the other people as social goods, then the Mother of All Darkness would dominate. She is attempting to control and exploit the social goods in a way that would create a monopoly. This would not create equality according to Walzer as he argues that there should be a reduction of dominance. Therefore, he would not approve of the Mother of All Darkness’s actions.

I know this is a mighty big stretch but it was the only thing that I could really think of to relate the Hit List to something we discussed in class. On another note, I encourage anyone that is interested in starting this addicting series. My boyfriend started reading them this winter and can’t seem to put them down!

About Amanda Skonezney

I am a senior accounting major and anthropology minor at Bucknell University. I am also apart of the division I women's water polo team. I currently live in Harrisburg, PA. After graduation, I plan on going into tax and earning my CPA.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Hit List is a Great Hit

  1. Amanda- I think it’s really great that you have found a series that you like to read strictly for leisure purposes. I find that I never really have time during the semester, but during the summer I always try to read 1 or 2 books just for fun. I would ove to be able to read more and Hit List definitely sounds like an action packed thriller. The way you describe it also makes me think that it could be a movie. Perhaps in the future.

    Posted by Lauren McGuiggan | April 12, 2012, 3:24 pm
  2. I think you picked one of the 100,000 of vampire books that have come out since Twilight became popularized. I can’t help but always imagine what appeal these type of books have on our generation. Perhaps there is some underlying psychological aspect that we all find particularly thrilling when dealing with vampires, as it represents a slightly alternate version of our world. I sure hope you enjoy it!

    Posted by Derek | April 12, 2012, 5:43 pm
    • Actually, this series started way before Twilight. I have also started to read them before I even heard of Twilight but when they did start to get big, I gave them a try but learned that I absolutely despised them. I think those books are boring and have a way too “happy ending” story line. I mean honestly, a vampire that can sparkle in the sun?? Hamilton’s books are far from the sunny side atmosphere created in Twilight and is a lot more dark and realistic in a way. In a way, I think our generation is looking for alternatives for a “great” series since Harry Potter has ended. Twilight seems to be a great outlet since it is along the lines of fantasy and is a super easy read.

      Posted by Amanda Skonezney | April 12, 2012, 7:13 pm
  3. Amanda! This seems like a very interesting book. I am curious though, maybe this is ignorant of me; but what is a necromancer? Is it like a vampire?

    Posted by JOEY MARTIN | April 12, 2012, 6:35 pm
  4. And the necromancer is on “our” side? Makes me feel, um, better?!?

    Excellent reach on the Walzer, by the way… Except, I think he woudl say something like this- in the sphere of, um, vampire goods (bodies?), vampires well tend to monopoly. It is their area. But they are trying to dominate other spheres- law, maybe other supernaturals, and so on. So, your vampire hunter is trying to keep them in their own distributive sphere. Maybe?

    Posted by Jordi | April 18, 2012, 2:25 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Guilty Pleasures | My Seryniti - May 6, 2012

Leave a Reply

BLOG INSTRUCTIONS

Blog 5 before session 6 What (interest) or Who (person) Inspires You? For this week’s prompt, the Blog Council wants you to examine how this class relates to your own interests. So, please write about how this class relates to some of your own intellectual or other learning interests. We are NOT interested in how it relates to a specific career goal. Plan B: same idea, but based on a person. See whole post for details.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

