//
you're reading...
60 Second Idea, Uncategorized

It’s Simple.. VOLUNTEER!


Since I was little, I have always seen my mother volunteer for various organizations, whether it be running the book fair at my elementary, middle or high school, or stuffing envelops or chairing family nights at Gilda’s Club of Westchester. No matter how much she had on her plate, she always had the time to help others in need. Her dedication, selflessness and ability to enrich the lives of others are characteristics I truly admire, and if everyone could have a little bit of those qualities in them, the world would be a better place.

I have had the privilege of working with a first grade boy at Kelly Elementary School this past year through the Bucknell Buddies tutoring program on campus. Although I have been involved with the organization since my freshman year, this particular boy has made such an impact on my life. By just working with him for a half hour each week, I have seen a vast improvement on his ability to sound out words and add and subtract simple math problems. It has made me realize the power I have to change the way a person views their education and how I can encourage young people to push for excellence in the classroom.

Now I am not saying everyone has to volunteer in the classroom, it could be anywhere: a soup kitchen, a homeless shelter, delivering goods to a nation in need. But, what I am asking everyone is to be selfless for once in your life and think about others. Volunteering should not be an obligation or a chore… you should WANT to do it. Even though the benefit is for those people you are helping, you will be surprised how rewarding the experience can be. And if one person is fulfilled, maybe he or she will share his or her experiences with a friend, and maybe that person will start volunteering. The more people we have volunteering in this world, the more people are reaping its benefits and hey… maybe our world will be a better place because of it.

About Dana Silverstein

I am a Senior Management and History major at Bucknell University. I currently live in Westchester, New York and am hoping to start a career in advertising upon graduation.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “It’s Simple.. VOLUNTEER!

  1. Dana, I think you have a great message here. I am so happy that my future employer allows for one full paid volunteer day per year to motivate people to get out and give back. While I expect to go above and beyond this, more companies should employ such positive policies.

    Posted by JOEY MARTIN | April 24, 2012, 12:13 am
  2. I agree that volunteering is extremely important in society. I also grew up with my mother volunteering at various places: winterkids, TIP, the teen center, etc…It was nice to see someone so passionate about helping others. I actually started many clubs in high school to raise money for children in need, while also volunteering at local schools. Volunteering makes such a difference in how you feel about yourself and your actions. If people realized that there are personal benefits to volunteering than maybe more people would.

    Posted by Catherine Gibbons | April 24, 2012, 12:57 pm
  3. I agree to a certain extent. I think now more than ever it’s becoming harder and harder for people to volunteer because they are cautious and/or living in fear about their own situation. We know about the high employment rate, but when thinking about people our age or people a few years older, many are underemployed even if they’re able to get a job. Working for minimum wage or close to it makes it difficult for those living on their own. How can they find time to volunteer when they have a full time job and might be looking for a second one? Volunteering is important, but our economy is allowing it to happen less and less given the situation of today’s young people.

    Posted by Ben K. | April 24, 2012, 5:47 pm
    • Ben, I think if you look at rates of volunteering over the last 20-30 years, there is a general trend upward actually. WOuld be fun to double check, but overall, we are in a “golden age” of volunteerism…

      Posted by Jordi | April 25, 2012, 9:11 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Hats off to volunteers! « My Takes - April 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

BLOG INSTRUCTIONS

Blog 5 before session 6 What (interest) or Who (person) Inspires You? For this week’s prompt, the Blog Council wants you to examine how this class relates to your own interests. So, please write about how this class relates to some of your own intellectual or other learning interests. We are NOT interested in how it relates to a specific career goal. Plan B: same idea, but based on a person. See whole post for details.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

