//
you're reading...
Philosophy or Ethics

Would You Buy a White Paper? Last WWYD?


As you know, we have been doing short vignettes-“What Would You Do?”-all semester.  A survey sent to BU faulty about “dishonesty among students” got me thinking about the ability to buy papers on the Internet.  I surfed to samedayessay.com .  The following transcript is verbatim.  I only changed the name of the customer service rep a I worried she would potentially face some retribution.

Interesting points:

  • The company claims they sell papers to be guides only.  I did not see the disclaimer anywhere.
  • The cost to do my white paper assignment seemed around $425.
  • Maria thought it was sad how many “lazy” students would use the service, but she seemed to suggest it was more acceptable for students also working or with other extenuating circumstances.
  • I posed as a student for awhile.
  • I left spelling errors in for accuracy.

Now online: Please leave your question here and one of our agents will attend to you shortly.

Customer Service

Hi there! Thank you for your interest in our services! Our friendly 24/7 support would be happy to answer any questions. Feel free to ask!

 

You (click to change)

so, I give you a topic and you can produce a 15 page research paper?

You are currently being served by
Maria

 

Maria

hi

You (click to change)

howdy

 

Customer Support

Hi there! Our friendly support reps are online, feel free to chat with us if you need assistance =)

 

Maria

when do you need the paper done?

 

You (click to change)

I am just trying to figur eout if you help me with my paper o if you atually provide a complete paper

paper

oh, um Thursday

sorry for the typing

 

Maria

it’s ok. well, we actually write the paper from scratch following your instructions

 

You (click to change)

oh. Wow. that seems cool but a little sketchy

the research paper prices are accurate? So like a 15 page paper is $405?

 

Maria

please check this page:http://samedayessay.com/order_now

the price will be calculated automatically as you specify the order details

 

You (click to change)

what if the professor wnats something like a resarch paper but more specific. this one wants a “policy analysis” of an existing area. I have the topic, and some research, but I am worried I won’t finish. And I need this class to gaduate!

hello?

 

Maria

after you place an order you will be able to contact the writer directly, so you will be able to forward the professor’s instructions to the writer

of course, the sources will be properly cited. the writer will do the research that has to be done to write the paper

 

You (click to change)

thanks!

 

Maria

yes, please follow this link to place an order:http://samedayessay.com/order_now?dsc_code=smd20

this link will automatically apply your 20% First time customer discount

 

You (click to change)

No, in full disclosure, I should tell you I am actually a professo and was wondering what the services out there are like. I will use our chat as the basis of a discussion of ethics.

You (click to change)

No, in full disclosure, I should tell you I am actually a professo and was wondering what the services out there are like. I will use our chat as the basis of a discussion of ethics.

I say this as I feel professionally bound by a code of ethics.

my contact info: jcomas@bucknell.edu

Maria

Thank you.  If I can be of further assistance let me know.

You (click to change)

Well since you asked, d you feel like you are helping students cheat?

Maria

No.  As we say in our disclaimer: Disclaimer: All the papers you get at samedayessay.com are meant for research purposes only. These are sample papers that you may use to develop certain skills, but you should refrain from submitting them as your own.

You (click to change)

Oh.  So, if a student takes that paper for research purposes, designed the way a professor wants, and submits it for a grade, then the moral burden is on him or her?  Not the company or it’s writer?  Correct?

Maria

yes. we emphasise the fact that the papers are meant for research/reference purposes rather than for submission. that’s why we never guarantee the grade a student can get if the paper is submitted. all we guarantee is that the paper will follow the instructions provided by the customer, and, of course, will follow academic standards

 

You (click to change)

Do you also write for samedayessay.com yourself? Just curious?

 

Maria

no, i don’t. i’m just a customer support operator

 

You (click to change)

And you are allowed to chat with me so long? Will your manager get annoyed? i do appreciate it, by the way…

 

Maria

as you might have noticed, i don’t respond at once because there are customers i have to attend to. as long as all the customers are served, i can chat with you, too

 

You (click to change)

I see. I would imagine close to 99% of your clients take their paper and submit it as their own work. What do you think?

I agree with you. My students, if they pay full fee, pay $50k a year for this school. To pay that, and then NOT get the value of learning… it is like buying a porsche and then hiring a chauffer.

 

Maria

good point 🙂

can i ask you something? will you be discussing these questions in class? or is it some kind of reseach you are going to publish?

 

You (click to change)

in class. not research

Why?

 

Maria

just interested. i wonder what the students think about this. how they would explain their choice to use this service

 

You (click to change)

Well, email me and I will tell you! Thank you for chatting… I need to go.

Maria

You too.  Thank you.

About Jordi

I am an assistant professor in the Management School at Bucknell University. I specialize in organization theory, social networks, and studying the network society. I have three children, including twins. They love bouncing on the couch, legos, music, and my waffles. My wife teaches English at the same university. I am interested in most things, but these days, networks, social entrepreneurs, the environment, innovation, and virtual worlds. Finding Hidden Abodes and Shaking Iron Cages since 1972

Discussion

One thought on “Would You Buy a White Paper? Last WWYD?

  1. Reblogged this on The Nets We Weave and commented:

    Here is a post I wrote a year ago about my experience interacting with a paper mill.

    Posted by Jordi | February 26, 2013, 5:21 pm

Leave a Reply

BLOG INSTRUCTIONS

Blog 5 before session 6 What (interest) or Who (person) Inspires You? For this week’s prompt, the Blog Council wants you to examine how this class relates to your own interests. So, please write about how this class relates to some of your own intellectual or other learning interests. We are NOT interested in how it relates to a specific career goal. Plan B: same idea, but based on a person. See whole post for details.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

